March 18, 2012

Ever played chicken (and lost) with a semi truck before? My boyfriend and I have…

Hello all,

This bloggy blog is one that has been difficult for me to write. Trying to find the words to express all of the things I want (and perhaps need) to express, has been a challenge for me. I think my best bet is to just simply write. So that’s what I’m going to do.

March 18, 2012 we decided to go to Coras for breakfast. To those of you who don’t know this place, let me sum it up in one word. FRUIT. So much fruit. All the fruit. It’s a vegetarians dream to be honest, and one of my favorite places to have breakfast. So, being the lovely boyfriend he is, Mike took me there that morning. We like to play this game that I’m sure all couples have played. The ever annoying “What do you wanna do? I dunno, what do YOU wanna do?” game. So we went back and forth and sat there after we had finished our meals for seriously, like 45 minutes. Finally we decided to just get in the car and go home. We were about to get in the car when I have the wonderful idea to go get some mulling spice for cider. What could possibly go wrong doing that? Well…

Around 3pm, on our way to get delicious cider ingredients, a semi truck began to lose it’s load and instead of stopping at the red light he had, he made the decision to run the light and by doing so he t-boned the passenger side of our car where I was sitting. I remember quite vividly looking over and seeing the giant grill of the truck coming towards us and all I could say was “Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. OH MY GOSH!”… Then he smashed us. He smashed us good. So good in fact that both our car and his semi were written off. I had lost consciousness and what’s more frustrating is that I also lost time. A good 30 minutes or so I think. I remember the smash, then waking up in the car very briefly, and then I didn’t wake up again until I was on a back board in the ambulance. The worst moment of my life was waking up then and thinking that Mike had passed away. I remember the paramedics surrounding me, asking me if I knew who I was and where I was. If it had been a pop quiz, I would have aced it because I got them all right. But all I cared about was Mike at that point. I called out his name a few times and didn’t hear anything, which put me into a state of panic for a split second. Then I heard one of the paramedics say that Mike was ok and was riding with me in the ambulance. A wave of emotion came over me and to be honest, I don’t remember much between that moment and the moment I awoke in the hospital. I later found out that while still in the car, Mike was saying my name and my head just hung to the side. He thought at that moment he had lost me as well and hearing that broke my heart because I knew he must have felt the same pain I had felt, thinking the worst had happened.

When all was said and done, it took the paramedics 30 minutes and the jaws of life to finally get me out of the car. (I was always rather stubborn like that.) I ended up with broken ribs, a broken pelvis, stitches in my head, a chest tube in my lung to drain out the blood and a 4 day hospital stay. Mike also suffered painful injuries. Both Mike and I are still in pain daily, some days are better than others though. I used to run 5k every day and do hot yoga a few times a week and now I’m lucky if I can run 20 minutes without feeling it and becoming exhausted. We’ve been in physio since April or so and hopefully in time we’ll get back to the way we were or at least as close to that as possible. I’m not trying to be a negative Nelly here though (and I’m not wanting this to cause tears… I’m talking to you Momsie!) that’s not what this post is about. I really am trying to stay positive and it I know that the outcome could have been far worse so I’m thankful everyday that we were able to walk away from this with just the injuries we got.

Even though the accident was almost 5 months ago, it still seems like it was just yesterday. I often wonder about that day, and how it could have been different. As silly as it sounds (and as much as Mike hates when I say this), I hold so much guilt for what happened. We wouldn’t have been in that place at that time if I hadn’t wanted that cider. Maybe I should blame the cider. Being so darn tasty and all. Mmm, cider.

They say that with every storm, there’s a rainbow not far behind. I believe that more than ever now. Mike and I were close before this all happened, but this accident brought us so much closer to each other. It shows that our relationship can get through anything. I didn’t think I could love him anymore than I already had, but I was proven wrong.

I love you sweetheart. Much.

Peace, love and sarcasm,

Becky

Where I was hit

Jerk Semi

A few hours after being hit.
Keeping a smile on my face 🙂

Leave a Reply

