Mean Jealousy: Defined

I’ve had the unfortunate pleasure of having to deal with a few mean girls (and boys) in my lifetime and let me tell you, it was no picnic. I thought high school ended years and years ago, apparently to some it’s very much still present.

So why are we mean? I think alot of it has to do with a word that I absolutely despise using. Jealousy.

The dictionary defines jealousy as “resentment against a rival”. This is true. However, I define it slightly different.

I believe that jealousy is often times a mask for something deeper. If you think someone is more talented or prettier or smarter than you, what good is it to envy them? Why not look within yourself & realize the talents and gifts you have instead of having bitterness towards those you think have it better than you.
Don’t get me wrong, I myself have been jealous. Jealous of ridiculous things that I look back on now, and laugh about. Everyone has felt the wrath of the green eyed monster, but there is one distinct difference between that kind of innocent/normal jealousy and mean jealousy. Mean jealousy is when you are so overcome with envy that you begin to hate all things to do with the person you’re feeling the jealousy for. I’ve experienced this first hand and know how devestating it can feel to have certain people dislike and more or less curse your name to anyone they can, just to make them feel better about themselves. I know what it’s like to hear hateful & untrue things being said, by people who you barely know. And I know what it’s like to be hurt by the words of a stranger. I admit I’ve been jealous before, but I would never take it as far as some people like and feel the need to do.

I guess the point of this bloggy blog, is to get some things off my chest and also to tell people that it’s not ok to hurt someone on account of your own insecurities. I consider myself a strong, smart, funny & rather cute little lady. With that being said, the wrath of the mean girl still got to me a little, but it also made me see how strong of a person I really am. It helped me realize that the only reason certain people want to try to make you feel bad, is simply because they have no other way of making themselves feel good.

So next time you start to have a mean jelly for someone, just remember that there really is no need for it. And if you’re the type that gets off on that kind of thing, then maybe you should try focusing on yourself a little more.

Peace, love & sarcasm,

Becky

Leave a Reply

