Loves!

Me? I’m thankful for alot…

Thanksgiving is a time of giving thanks. I know, right? Shocker. But for me, this holiday was always more of a  a long weekend full of getting together with the family, eating far too many things, and passing out in front of a terrible movie. Don’t get me wrong, I adore the holidays. But this particular one never really meant all that much to me personally. Until this year.

Last Monday night I got a text from a family member saying that my Mom had been rushed to the ER. She’s had health problems in the past, so this scared me. As the night went on, I knew that I had to find a way to get back to the Calgary area to be with her, as she had to be admitted for a few days at least. I told my boyfriend, Mike, what was going on and without question, he told me he’d take the next day off and drive me to see her. So, we went there and thank goodness my Momsie was ok. (She was released from the hospital a few days after being admitted, and is doing well now.)

We stayed there a few days and then Friday came around and we had to come back to the Edmonton area for work related things. But knowing how badly I wanted to be with my family for Thanksgiving dinner, Mike told me we’d drive back Saturday morning, have dinner, and come back to Edmonton Sunday for dinner with his family. And that’s what we did.

It may seem like such a small thing, but this whole experience made me appreciate the Thanksgiving holiday a little more.

This morning, Mike hugged me & whispered a very sweet “I love you” to me as we were waking up and although I’ve heard it so many times from him, this is one of the ones I’ll always remember because as he was saying it, I was realizing what I was most thankful for.

What I’m most thankful for, is Mike & I’s love story.

I love you, sweetheart.

Peace, love & sarcasm,

Becky

2 thoughts on “Loves!

Leave a Reply

