Home for the Holidays?

This just makes me giggle.

December 1st is just days away and with the start of the holiday season upon us, we are all gearing up for the wonder that is Christmas. The shopping, the specialty lattes, the wanting to throw the specialty lattes in the faces of other shoppers in your way, it’s the same every year for me. I wish I could be one of those people who gets all of their shopping done in June and laugh at those of us running around like last minute turkeys. But I can’t change who I am, and I’m a December gift buying lady!

However this year, I’m facing a dilemma I haven’t had to deal with for over 5 years.

Where to spend the holidays?

Last year, my relationship with Mike was only a few months old, so it made it easier to say “Ok, you be with your family and I’ll be with my family and we’ll meet up in the new year.” We also lived in different cities at that time, which made it even easier. But this year is the first year we had to have the talk on where we should spend our time. I know we don’t need to be together on Christmas, and if I was a different person, I really wouldn’t care. But like I said, I am who I am, and I very much want to wake up next to my sweetheart on Christmas morning. Call me a romantic. Call me old fashioned. Call me a nerd. It’s just something I want to do, and this year will be the first time we get to do that.

Because our families live 4 hours apart from each other, this may be a bit of a challenge and quite a bit of driving for us on Christmas day. But, we made the decision quite easily actually, so for that I’m a happy girl. That being said, I have a bit of a guilt as well. You see, we decided to go be with my family Christmas eve and Christmas morning and his family for Christmas dinner. But I know that he and his twin brother have certain traditions they do every Christmas eve, and his family have traditions as well. So I feel like I’m taking him away from that. But my family also has traditions that I don’t want to miss out on. We thought of a way that will hopefully please both of our families and us I think though. So, yay for us and yay for waking up next to my sweetie on Christmas morning. Win-Win.

I guess this year, we’re making new traditions πŸ™‚

Peace, love & sarcasm,

Becky

 

4 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays?

  1. Hi, as I was reading your blog I thought of me, this year I am exactly like you were last year, only when the time comes for us to have that “talk” is going to be hard (I think) because my family lives 2 planes away, it’s a all day spent on airports. Anywhay, thank you for sharing that and I hope you have a wonderful christmas with your family πŸ™‚

  2. Awe, thank you for your comment πŸ™‚

    It can be hard deciding where to spend the holidays! Especially when your families live so far apart. The last several years I had been married to my ex, so it was easy to just stay at our place and spend it together, then have both our families come over. But my family being 4 hours away, and both my lovely boyfriend and I not wanting to take each other away from our own families during the holidays was hard at first. But we had the “talk” and worked out a plan. I’m sure you guys will also! πŸ™‚

    Happy Holidays to you as well.

    Becky

    Ps. I love calling it the “talk”. Sounds naughty. Haha.

Leave a Reply

