YTT – Day 1

Day 1 of my yoga teacher training was an exhausting one! Wow! So much to learn and take in, but all in all it was a pretty great day. It was also the hottest day of the year so far here, so it was a double whammy! 35 Degrees here, and it felt like 43 degrees with humidity! Insane, I know. I even walked home in the blazing heat, because I’m weird like that. I don’t know if it was all the excitement of the day or what, but I didn’t even realize how warm it was out until (get this) I got home! It seems hotter in our place than outside. Blah. I’m down to my skivvies almost right now writing this. Haha.

Anyways, back to the yoga teacher training experience…

There are 10 of us in the class, so it’s very hands on and personal, which I like. My classmates seem like good people, and the teacher is awesome. She preggo’s too, but can still rock at all of the moves, which I very much admire in her.

We went through introductions, course overviews, and then got into a full 75 minute yoga practice. Which was nice, but very warm in this heat! I also just got a fancy new (and lovely) yoga mat to kick it all off with, but it was almost TOO new. It was very slippery. But, I managed.

The lovely yoga mat Mike got me. Yes, yes of course it's pink.

The lovely yoga mat Mike got me. Yes, yes of course it’s pink.

After the yoga practice, we then dove into theory and history of yoga and the explanation of poses. We talked a little sanskrit, and did alot in our workbooks and text. We even have homework! Not too heavy though, just a little reading and we have to take a test and find out which “Dosha” we are. There are three types you can be. Vata, Pitta and Kapha. I happen to be Vata with a little Kapha. Mostly Vata though. Which pretty much means this: Vata Dosha. I encourage you to take the quiz also! Oh! We also did headstands and yea, I rocked it. I got very light headed after though, as I’m so thin, but I was proud I was able to do it šŸ™‚

Me doing a headstand! It's not perfect, but it's a start.

Me doing a headstand! It’s not perfect, but it’s a start.

We also did some meditations and at the end, the teacher even ended things off with a mini neck massage for each of us. I know, right?!

Right now, I’m feeling it though. My pains are painful and my exhaustion is exhausting. It was a good first day, just alot to take in. And it will only get harder!

I’m up for the challenge. I just hope my body is too! šŸ™‚

xoxo

Becky

(Ps. I’m just going to blog my YTT experience on here, and perhaps make a separate blog another time. It’s just easier when I already have so many great followers on here that want to know about my journey.)

Leave a Reply

